The Best of 2013: A Year in Tweets

1. The Year of PRSSA

About a year ago, I joined PRSSA. I quickly went from “member” to “evangelist.” So many wonderful things have come from joining this organization in such a short span of time that I can’t list them all, so the highlights will have to do.

  1. Became Chapter President of my Chapter at The University of Memphis
  2. Served as a delegate at the National Assembly in Albuquerque, New Mexico, where I got to vote on bylaws and the new National Committee
  3. Attended Leadership Rally in Scottsdale, AZ
  4. Attended National Conference in Philadelphia
  5. Met a multitude of professionals in my field
  6. Met some of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met who I am thankful to call my dearest friends
  7. Twitter-chatted my little heart out (#PRSSA)

All of those experiences have made my life so much richer. It’s hard to remember that there was a time when I didn’t know all of the people I’ve met through PRSSA, or what my career path would be like without it.

2. The Internship

About halfway through Summer I decided that it was time to look for my first internship. I applied to several, and within a couple of weeks got an email from Caissa Public Strategy in Downtown, Memphis asking when I could come in for an interview. I went in, interviewed, and less than a week later was offered the internship! I must humble brag that after my very first interview ever I got a really great internship that I’ve loved every minute of! Contrary to the tweets, however, I am still interning because they like me, they really like me!

3. Symphony of the Goddesses 

If you know me at all, then you know that I love Zelda almost as much as I love my own child. My husband James always goes above and beyond for me, so he drove us to Austin for a weekend to check out the city and see the Symphony of the Goddesses. I couldn’t imagine experiencing it with anyone else.

4. I grew a garden, y’all

If you’ve never grown anything, what are you waiting for?! Find a piece of earth and give it life. This was my first time really growing anything besides a sunflower when I was a kid, and it taught me so many lessons: patience, nurturing, and even grief. If you’ve ever had a crop that was suddenly destroyed by a vicious pest, you’ll understand why grief is a valid lesson in gardening. I successfully grew lettuce, tomatoes, pumpkins, herbs, sunflowers, peppers, and beans. Some things I planted didn’t grow or died early on, like my onions, cucumbers, and carrots. How applicable to life is this process? VERY! I’m getting excited thinking about this year’s garden.

5. Heck Yeah Midtown

I made this promo video for a class assignment. I did way more than was required, but it was a lot of fun and totally worth my Spring Break to shoot and edit it.

6. The Evolution of a PR Professional

I entered the PR Take Flight Contest, and decided to try out stop motion for the first time. Hindsight is 20/20. It was a terrible decision because I literally made the entire “set” and video over the course of just a few days. I found out about the contest right before it closed and it was quite miserable. A couple of pounds of playdoh, several sleepless nights, and hundreds of pictures later, I’d made my first stop motion! Let me take a moment to give a shoutout to people who make good stop motion. I have mad respect for you because it is exhausting. I didn’t win, but it was a fun experience, and I hope they do it again this year so I can be better prepared. Apparently I did not tweet about this, but here is the video!

7. Equality

2013 was a great year for equal marriage and LGBT rights. While there are still many states that need to catch up, I’m happy that there were victories that offer hope. I celebrate that with the understanding that there is still work to be done.

The year 2013 was wonderful. It was full of living, meeting people, travel, and growth. I expect to mirror and amplify that this year.

As I enter into my fourth year of marriage, my fifth year of parenting, and approach my 22nd birthday, I am happy to have so many memories to reflect on.

Leave a Reply

